What happens, if your wedding photographer has to cancel your wedding? This is a not a pretty question, that we all don't like to bring to our minds. Disclaimer: I wish neither a photographer nor a couple, this happening. Some engaged couples are looking for weeks, until they finally found someone, who is a great fit not only in terms of pictures but also on a personal level. Then suddenly a mail in your mailbox appears or your phone rings and unfortunately your photographer has to cancel. Damnit.

But the reality is: it happens. Even if I was able to photograph all of my over 130 own weddings, it already happened three times, I had to take the place for other colleagues. Ironically, such accidents even got me photographing a wedding in Virginia, USA , USA, after a colleague from Turkey had a double booking. Luckily I was still available at that weekend and the couple completely loved my images. Everything was perfect!

From my point of view this is one of those topics where wheat separates from chaff among the photographers. These are situations, which show, professional you're working. We are all not machines, indestructible superheroes and also make mistakes now and then. This is neither a mystery, nor particularly surprising. But at the point the main goal still remains unchanged. It must be ensured, that the bridal couple gets the best possible images. Anything else would be absolutely irresponsible.

My hedge in extreme cases is as following: I have an emergency list of about 15 photographers, and all of these I trust 200% in what they are doing, and that they will photograph your wedding – in their style – on a very high level. Moreover, with all of these people I'm in personal contact and I would call each individual as a friend.

Thus we actually already are covered for about 99% of all cases. But Steven - what happens if all of your friends don't have time? There is still small remaining probability, which is why I am a member of a network with more than 5.000 active wedding photographers in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. In this group you can post emergency weddings. All members, that are still available, can contact me with their contact details. Often times more than 100 photographer sign up in the first few hours - and these we will definitely find a good replacement.

That's all great, but why are you telling us all this just? Well, because of Sabrina and Michael! These two contacted me about four weeks before their wedding in Giengen an der Brenz, after another colleague had a double booking and could not photograph their wedding. We directly liked each other from the first second, everything was fine and thus they booked me really spontaneously.

Sabrina and Michael started their day together with the Getting Ready in their own home in Ichenhausen-Hochwang. Everything super comfortable and without much stress. For their Catholic wedding, we drove to the really beautiful St. Martinus Church in Oberstotzingen '. For the rest of the day we went to the a little distant Giengen. There is the “Schranne” - an updated measure of grain and town house 19. th Century with an industrial look. A really cool venue for a wedding reception. Exceptionally, they only booked me for 6 hours booked instead of my usual full-day coverages. But with such emergencies of course I do exceptions!

And as a small add-on I also received a Fearless Award for one of my images of this reportage. This is the world's prestigious prize in wedding photography. That makes me super proud.

 

Leave A

Comment

oprolevorter
28. September 2019
Your website is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this blog.You, my pal, ROCK! What a perfect site.
Reply

Was passiert eigentlich, wenn euer Hochzeitsfotograf absagen muss? Das ist eine super doofe Frage, über das man nur ungern redet. Vorweg: ich wünsche weder einem Fotografen noch einem Brautpaar, dass dieser Fall eintritt. Einige Brautpaare suchen teils Wochen, bis sie endlich jemanden gefunden habe, bei dem es wie die Faust auf’s Auge passt und die Chemie wie die Bilder stimmen. Plötzlich kommt dann eine Mail ins Postfach oder das Telefon klingt und genau dieser Fotograf muss absagen. Mist.

Aber die Realität ist nunmal: es passiert. Auch wenn ich alle meine über 130 eigenen Hochzeiten fotografieren konnte, ist es schon drei Mal passiert, dass ich für Kollegen eingesprungen bin. Ironischerweise haben mich solche Zufälle sogar schon bis nach Virginia in die USA geführt, weil ein Kollegen aus der Türkei eine Doppelbuchung hatte. Zum Glück hatte ich genau an diesem Wochenende noch frei und das Brautpaar fand meine Bilder ohnehin bombe. Alles perfekt also!

Aus meiner Sicht trennt sich in solchen Fällen die Spreu vom Weizen unter den Fotografen. Das sind Situationen, wo sich zeigt, wie professional man arbeitet. Wir sind allesamt keine Maschinen, unzerstörbare Superhelden und auch Fehler machen ab und an. Das ist weder ein Geheimnis, noch sonderlich überraschend. Aber auch an dem Punkt bleibt das Hauptziel immer noch unverändert. Es muss sichergestellt sein, dass das Brautpaare geile Bilder bekommt. Alles andere wäre absolut unverantwortlich.

Meine Absicherung im Extremfall sieht wie folgt aus: Ich habe eine Notfall-Liste mit etwa 15 Fotografen, denen ich allesamt zu 200% zutraue, dass sie eine Hochzeit – in ihrem Stil – auf einem verdammt hohen fotografieren werden. Dazu kommt, dass ich mit all diesen Menschen in persönlichem Kontakt stehe und ich jeden einzelnen als Freund bezeichnen würde.

Somit wären eigentlich schon alleine 99% aller Fälle abgedeckt. Aber Steven – und wenn die alle schon was vor haben? Für diese echt kleine Restwahrscheinlichkeit bin ich Mitglied eines Netzwerkes mit mehr als 5.000 aktiven Hochzeitsfotografen in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. In dieser Gruppe wird dann die Notfall-Hochzeit eingestellt. Alle Mitglieder, die noch verfügbar sind, können sich mit ihren Kontaktdaten darauf melden. Oftmals melden sich in wenigen Stunden über 100 Fotografen auf diese Anfragen – und aus denen finden wir ganz sicher einen guten Ersatz.

Das ist ja alles toll, aber wieso erzählst du uns das alles gerade? Naja, wegen Sabrina und Michael! Die beiden kamen etwa vier Wochen vor ihrer Hochzeit in Giengen an der Brenz zu mir, nachdem ein anderer Kollege eine Doppelbuchung hatte und die Hochzeit somit nicht fotografieren konnte. Wir fanden uns direkt super sympathisch, es hat alles gepasst und somit haben sie mich auch echt spontan gebucht.

Sabrina und Michael starteten gemeinsam ihren Tag mit dem Getting Ready in ihrem eigenen Haus in Ichenhausen-Hochwang. Alles super gemütlich und ohne viel Stress. Für ihre katholische Trauung haben sich die beiden die wirklich schöne St. Martinus Kirche in Oberstotzingen ausgesucht. Für den Rest des Tages ging es in etwas weiter entfernte Giengen an der Brenz. Dort befindet sich die „Schranne“ – ein modernisiertes Getreidemaß und Bürgerhaus aus dem 19. Jahrhundert mit industriellem Look. Eine wirklich coole Location für eine Hochzeitsfeier. Ausnahmsweise haben mich die beiden nur für 6 Stunden gebucht statt den sonst üblichen Ganztagsbegleitung. Aber bei solchen Notfälle mache ich natürlich auch mal eine Ausnahme!

Und als kleines Add-On habe ich auch noch einen Fearless Award für eines meiner Bilder dieser Reportage gewonnen. Das ist der weltweit renommierste Preis in der Hochzeitfotografie. Darüber bin ich einfach nur stolz.

 

Leave A

Comment